It's weird how all that overacting and heavily classical characters make for such an enjoyable movie. Plenty of twisted lines, and I should just copy a few. Most of the good ones are for Sidney. How can we root for a scum like that?
Steve
You've got more twists than a barrel of pretzels
You've got more twists than a barrel of pretzels
That's fish, four days old. I
can't buy it!
Weldon
It's a dirty job, but I pay clean money for it!
It's a dirty job, but I pay clean money for it!
Leo's Wife
What is this, chess or checkers...?
JJ
I'd hate to take a bite outta you. You're a cookie full of arsenic
Match me, Sidney!
Everybody knows Manny Davis, except Mrs.Manny Davis
My right hand hasn't seen my left hand in thirty years
I love this dirty town
Conjugate me a verb. For instance: to promise
I'm a schoolboy - teach me, teach me
My right hand hasn't seen my left hand in thirty years
I love this dirty town
Conjugate me a verb. For instance: to promise
I'm a schoolboy - teach me, teach me
Sidney
I left my sense of humor in my other suit
Watch we run a 50 yard dash with my legs cut off
A press agent eats a columnist's dirt and is expected to call it
manna
Start thinking with your head instead of your hips
I don't think you got the cards to blitz me
Start thinking with your head instead of your hips
I don't think you got the cards to blitz me
Take your hand off, lump!
Let's forget cats and dogs and other pseudo-literary remarks
Give him credit, the boy's gall is gorgeous!
She almost followed him out the window
I get a felling this was a template for
FrankMilller's SinCity movie(s), those strait faces, heavy voices, the weird
wind, camera searching a character.
The first F1 of the season has just begun and the start was a fail so they start again. Looks like the Ferraris are in, strong, in a one-two.
The cop guy is very nice. And when I say nice I also refer to the fact that there is no killer in this movie. I kept expecting the death(literal) of one in the main cast, as I thought this is a feature of a noir film, a death connected to the beautiful woman, but when the action guy says he will not do that even for his own column(reminding me of ”will do everything for love”, but I must fuck you tonight or else), I was sure he was referring to murder. Perhaps, this being a story inspired by real people, they thought it dangerous to add the supreme crime and just toned-down the violence.
What they don't go shy on, is corruption, influence and the ill effects of papers in those days. News had the power to bring down a man, or to redefine a person and this is what they actually did. Just like ”Ace in the Hole”, a writer is very little concerned with facts and takes advantage in using the tool to it's full potential. The news is a machine, that when used ”properly” it is in fact being suffocated, tied up. News is alive, when used at full throttle, like in these movies.
So Rosberg wins, Verstapen goes crazy and goes out of points, Alonso has one of the worst crashes I have ever seen on TV(gets out on his feet, looking ok), Bottas goes from 16th to 8th and the Ferraris only get a third position.
I just love the lighting in this picture. And since I have little to no idea what lighting is or how it is done, I will rephrase it and go for: I love the composition in most frames. Clear distinction between light and dark, well balanced, lots of details in the grey helping the overall. Like the police sign in the windshield of the police car, going on-and-off.
